All Republican candidates in federal and statewide races on the ballot in Dawson County were elected by the majority of voters in Tuesday’s General Election
    Those local voters joined the majority across the state in re-electing Republican incumbent candidates to their current positions in the U.S. Senate, U.S. House of Representatives, and key state offices, including Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Attorney General, Comptroller of Public Accounts, Commissioner of the General Land Office and Commissioner of Agriculture.
    The highly contested race between incumbent U.S. Senator Ted Cruz (Republican) and his challenger, Beto O’Rourke (Democrat), who currently is serving in the U.S. House of Representatives, for Senator drew a lot of interest all across the state.
    Cruz was re-elected by 50.89 percent of the voters in the state, while O’Rourke received 48.31 percent of the votes and Libertarian candidate Neal M. Dikeman got less than 1 percent.
    In Dawson County, Cruz won by a much larger percentage with 71.7 percent (2,240 people) voting for Cruz and 27.9 percent (874 people) voting for O’Rourke, according to the unofficial election returns from Dawson County Clerk Darla Sheppard. Dikeman also got less than 1 percent of the vote (nine people) in Dawson County.
    Congressman Mike Conaway (Republican-Midland), who is popular among local farmers for his work on their behalf as chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, was re-elected to another term, receiving 80.20 percent of the vote in the 11th District of the state and 75.1 percent (2,325 people) in Dawson County.
    Conaway’s challengers, Jennie Lou Leeder (Democrat) got 18.37 percent of the district-wide vote and 23.9 percent (741 people) in Dawson County, while Rhett Rosenquest Smith (Libertarian) received 1.42 percent of the vote across the district and just under 1 percent (16 people) in Dawson County.


(See complete story in e-Edition online and in printed edition of Lamesa Press-Reporter on newsstands now.)